Skip to content

Netbeans

June 11, 2008

I use Netbeans6.1 when developing in Rails. The thing I like most about it is that I can easily read the docs from a certain method in my code. I just press Ctrl + hover my mouse to that method and walla, the docs appears in my IDE. I can also do that when placing the cursor at that method and pressing Ctrl + \.

It also has code refactoring and code completion. Though I would still be careful on using the refactoring tool. Always check the preview first before you refactor it senseless. Code completion is a bliss but sometimes it can be PITA when you have bubbles coming out on auto mode each time you try to write a code. I have to repeatedly press Escape to make those bubbles disappear.

The most useful shortcut key IMHO is Ctrl + Shift + o. I can easily find the file that I need in my IDE. And the one thing I do frequently is format the code with Ctrl + Shift + F. Although sometimes it messes up my indented hashes.

Even though Netbeans has it own console and has all the right-click goodies when clicking the root project, I am still much more comfortable using my gnome terminal. I open multiple tabs of it when I’m coding. One for the script/server, another for script/console, sometimes for script/dbconsole, and another for those wonderful rake commands.

I also use Aloha for my Netbeans theme. It certainly gives me a textmate like theme. Though if I have the dough, I would buy myself a Macbook Pro and Textmate since all the cool kids uses them.

So yeah, Netbeans is cool and I hope that they can make it load things faster especially on the start-up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2008 3:53 am

    the URL for Aloha doesn’t work.

  2. June 12, 2008 3:57 am

    Fix. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a Reply

